Posted by: Tia | January 29, 2009

Life of Mediocrity Or Life of Passion – What’s it Going to Be?

 

Did you wake up today and ask “what am I doing with my life”?

Or perhaps you find yourself wondering if there’s more to life than the daily grind of work, home, activities, day in and day out .. the same old thing. Samo-Samo.

Are you happy, like your job but feel there’s got to be something more out there? Do you want work to be more fulfilling, meaningful and fun? Would you like to jump out of bed each day with a smile on your face, a real sense of purpose and excitement? How wonderful would that feel!?

Not that long ago I was hopping from job to job. In an 11 year working career I held over 15 jobs in 7 industries. The longest I ever stayed in a job was 9 months. And I managed to take a total of 4 years off in between jobs. That should have told me something but it was only last year that I finally figured out what was going on.

You see, I really don’t like working!

That’s right, I said it. I still don’t. I left my first advertising job due to a clash of values with my boss. The second job in financial services because I didn’t feel right about convincing people to hand over their life savings for 120% returns in the stock market. And so on. New jobs, new reasons to leave.

Looking back I can see clearly now the rain has gone … I can see that my CORE VALUES were not being met in any of these jobs! There was no courage, love, openness, fun, freedom or growth in any of them. No wonder my spirit rebelled and my mind quit the party 5 minutes into it.

I wish I’d had someone recognise what was going on then – would have saved the last 10 years of my life working in moderately to well paid, boring and unfulfilling jobs, travelling from city to town to new country to country in search of adventure, fun and excitement (no regrets about the travelling though).

You know what’s one of the saddest things in the world? Living a life of mediocrity and indifference. Like I did for so long. Living on autopilot because that’s the easy thing to do. In fact, it’s the hardest because of the price we ultimately pay.

Being ok with waking up every day to go work in a job you can’t stand, to make money that you spend too fast, for 2 weeks of vacation a year and dreaming about the day you’ll come into money or get a great break or have the guts to up and out of this so-so existence to actually MAKE your dreams come true…

That is truly the saddest misuse of our lives on Earth, a gross waste of time and talent.

When you find your purpose, the contribution you were here to make in this world, discover your potential and tap into your inner self where all the answers already are, you will never work another day in your life.

Even if you spend 50 hours a week following your heart and living a life of passion, it won’t ever feel like work.

It can get challenging and hard at times but it will always, always, ALWAYS be worth it!

And that my friend, is how life was meant to be lived. With passion, courage and love. Making a difference in this world. Making each day count.

The world desperately needs people who are living fully, with authenticity and passion.

The world needs YOU to come alive. Have you? Isn’t it time?

Responses

  1. Hi Tia…
    I’m passing on a blog award to you! Visit my blog for the details. Love this post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

